Skip to content

Dr. Frank J. Sapienza

Frank J. Sapienza, a practicing dentist since 1985, was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. The youngest of five children, he began assisting in his father’s dental office at the age of sixteen.  He quickly developed in interest in technology in the healthcare setting, writing a dental practice management software package at the age of twenty.

Later, he published a computer tutorial for dentists, Computers in the Dental Office: How to Evaluate, Select and Get the Most Out of Your System. Advances in technology, both in his practice and in the larger healthcare arena, continue to be his main professional passions.

During his lengthy career, he has witnessed dramatic technological advancements in all aspects of healthcare delivery, including the field of genetics. The proliferation of commercial DNA testing enterprises, including those offering preservation of stem cells from extracted baby teeth, inspired an examination of the potential for abuse of this sensitive information, should the genetic databases be breached.

In his spare time, he enjoys spending time with his family, reading thrillers and scientific journals, playing classical music on his piano, attending concerts, visiting New York’s many museums and fishing the temperamental waters of New York City.

He still lives in Brooklyn with his wife, Jeanmarie, a New York City teacher, and son Jonathan.

Facebook Page

THE GREATER GOOD

A warp-speed advance in medical treatment, or the beginning of a horrifying nightmare?

“…an adrenaline-pumping journey through the ethical gray zone…you won’t wanna put this one down, and when you do, you’ll be itching to chat about it with anyone who’ll listen!” -NetGalley Reviewer

Dr. Jonathan Morrison saves his son’s life with a kitchen knife, but finally realizes he has been in denial about the true cause of his son’s worsening symptoms. When he is contacted by Advanced Genomic Research, their promise of creating a revolutionary new treatment for his son seems too good to be true. And there is a catch. He is faced with an impossible choice- abandon a possible cure for his son, or embrace an ethical compromise that will change him forever.

His painful journey unearths a shocking revelation that will lead to either redemption, or damnation…and the death of countless unsuspecting victims, including everyone he loves.

“…(The Greater Good) illuminates the social challenges we all face from DNA technology…one diabolical twist after another. It’s medical thriller with high stakes.” -John Tierney, New York Times best-selling author

“…a medical thriller must-read…” -Readers’ Favorite

“… A fast-moving, hard-hitting medical thriller…” -Bestthrillers

Perfect for fans of Robin Cook and Tess Gerritsen

 Have you taken a home DNA test, or know someone who has?

The Greater Good concludes with an examination of the state of genetic privacy and presents questions you should ask before sending in that swab.

Praise for THE GREATER GOOD

“The Greater Good is a superb novel: a classic page-turner about the brave new world of genetics. In taut and supple prose, Frank Sapienza has masterfully created a cast of vivid characters and a fast-paced plot with one diabolical twist after another. It’s medical thriller with high stakes – a doctor desperate to save his son’s life, a mysterious company with global ambitions – that keeps you absorbed in one man’s personal struggles as it illuminates the social challenges we all face from DNA technology. What a literary debut!” –John Tierney, New York Times best-selling author of Willpower and The Power of Bad.

“An outstanding medical thriller that explores the moral dilemmas faced by Dr. Jonathan Morrison, a desperate father trying to save his son. This gripping novel skillfully weaves together science, ethics, and suspense, keeping readers on the edge of their seats from start to finish. The author’s background in medicine adds an authentic and riveting dimension to the story, making it both educational and engrossing.

The character development in this book is exceptional, and Dr. Morrison’s internal struggle is portrayed with remarkable depth. As a reader, you can’t help but empathize with his choices, even when they push the boundaries of morality. The Greater Good is an intriguing exploration of the lengths to which a parent will go to save their child, and it will leave you pondering the ethical questions it raises long after you’ve turned the final page.” –Abigail L, Librarian for NetGalley

“Whoa, hold onto your lab coats, folks, because The Greater Good by Dr. Frank J. Sapienza is one wild ride! Imagine this: Dr. Jonathan Morrison, a surgeon with nerves of steel, saves his kid’s life with a freakin’ kitchen knife. But here’s the twist – he’s been in total denial about what’s really wrong with his little tyke! Enter Advanced Genomic Research, offering a cure that sounds so mind-blowingly cool, you’d think it’s straight out of a sci-fi flick. But guess what? There’s a catch, and it’s juicier than a double cheeseburger.

This book is like a rollercoaster for your brain, taking you on an adrenaline-pumping journey through the ethical gray zone. It’s a no-brainer; you gotta read this one! Dr. Sapienza serves up a tantalizing story that’ll leave you questioning just how far you’d go for the greater good. Trust me, you won’t wanna put this one down, and when you do, you’ll be itching to chat about it with anyone who’ll listen!” –Sue E, Reviewer for NetGalley

“The Greater Good by Dr. Frank J. Sapienza is a medical thriller must-read. It is a page-turner, and I was hooked from the first chapter. The twists and turns in the flawlessly flowing plotline kept me on the edge of my seat. The author utilized suspense to great effect, and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened in the subsequent chapters. He was also very effective in capturing the imagination of the reader through the vivid descriptions of events and the emotions of the well-developed characters. I also found the plot to be thought-provoking on relevant issues, such as ethics in research, especially now that technology is advancing at a terrific speed in fields such as genetics and biochemistry. I cannot wait to read something more by this talented author.” –Frank Mutuma for Readers’ Favorite

“The Greater Good was fast-paced and full of action. It was a page-turner, and the suspense kept me on the edge of my seat. With all the twists and turns, I never knew what to expect next and I was kept guessing until the very end. The characters were authentic and relatable. Of all of them, my favorite character was Jon. He was willing to go to extremes so that he could give his son the necessary treatment. The growing relationship between Jon and Darla lightened the severity of their circumstances. This is an excellent medical thriller that far exceeded my expectations.” –Alma Boucher for Readers’ Favorite

“A deftly crafted novel arising from the fundamental question of what would a parent do, how far would a parent go, to have their child cured of a debilitating and ultimately lethal illness. The Greater Good by novelist and practicing dentist Frank J. Sapienza is a compelling, thought-provoking, and memorable read from start to finish. While especially and unreservedly recommended for community library Contemporary Fiction collections, it should be noted for the personal reading lists of anyone with an interest in medical suspense/thriller fiction.” —Midwest Book Review

“What would you do if you were presented with the means to help your medically disadvantaged child but knew that it was ethically dubious? That it is the crux of Frank Sapienza’s book, The Greater Good.

His main character, Dr Jon Morrison, recently separated, is the father of twin boys, Mike and Jack. It is Mike who concerns him, as Mike has Cystic Fibrosis and his prognosis for a long and healthy life is limited by this condition. Living in denial of the seriousness of his son’s condition, Jon is given a rude awakening when he is brought face to face with Mike’s mortality.

This life-or-death incident acts as a catalyst, as the stark reality of losing his son hits Morrison. He would do anything to save him and so, we arrive at a crossroads for our hero when he is presented with an moral dilemma: should he do something that goes against the ethical code of any health care professional and rules of confidentiality and receive money to help with expensive treatment for Mike; or potentially, watch his son die but keep his principles intact as a doctor and trusted health practitioner?

What I liked about this book most are the questions that it raises. It is very easy to sit as an observer and judge the actions of a character and be appalled at their behaviour but Sapienza portrays Morrison’s situation with balance and humanity, showing the dilemma that he has in choosing his course of action. I don’t want to go too much into the particulars here because that would spoil the story but I was constantly putting myself into Morrison’s shoes and contemplating what I would do if faced with the same scenario.

The novel also raises questions about who to trust and, in particular, how we place a lot of trust in hospitals, surgeries, medical practitioners, and assume that they always have our best interests at heart but what if they don’t?

As the book is a thriller, it is perhaps easy to guess that there are consequences for Morrison in the choices that he makes; however, Sapienza does not have Morrison completely disregard his conscience and it is ultimately his inability to ignore or override his principles that leads him into a dangerous situation and a further choice: to continue or confront?

The pace is good, the characters are believable, the conclusion credibly satisfying”. –Reedsy

Trailer for THE GREATER GOOD

 

OTHER AUTHORS YOU MIGHT LIKE

Back To Top